Know Your Buddy – Devyani Mehta

We all go through that period where we are mocked for some shortcoming of ours. I was no exception. Being a little less tall, I was always picked on for not being able to do the tough things normal people would usually do !

After a while when the mocking got a little too serious and aggravated my anger, I decided to vent out my anger in a more positive way.
I went on my first trek to panchalingeshwar where I was challenging myself with people who were much more built and tall. Trekking, river crossing, living in tents  ,river rafting, rock climbing, made me cherish the very small things in life, one of them being myself 🙂 I began finding happiness in the places I visited, the different people I met and the memories I made.
Going on treks to shankarpur, uttarey and climbing various mountains, living in unbearably cold temperatures just made me realise that my height was inversely proportional to my level of toughness.
I have trekked a total of 96kms and achieved the bronze standard. I hope we all can channelize our so called shortcomings in a way to just challenge ourselves and allow it to surprise us 🙂image1-2.JPG
Leave a Reply

